**City and County of Swansea** 



**Notice of Meeting** 

You are invited to attend a Special Meeting of the

### **Standards Committee**

At: Remotely via Microsoft Teams

On: Friday, 4 December 2020

Time: 10.00 am

Membership:

Councillors: J A Hale, M B Lewis and L G Thomas

Co-opted Members: Jill Burgess, Gareth Evans, Michaela Jones, Mike Lewis and Margaret Williams

Community Council Representative: Philip Crayford

Watch Online: <a href="https://bit.ly/2HCILWA">https://bit.ly/2HCILWA</a>

	Agenda	Deve Ne
1	Election of Chair for the Municipal Year 2020-2021.	Page No.
2	Election of Vice Chair for the Municipal Year 2020-2021.	
3	Apologies for Absence.	
4	Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests. www.swansea.gov.uk/disclosuresofinterests	
5	Minutes. To approve & sign the Minutes of the previous meeting(s) as a correct record.	1 - 2
6	Public Service Ombudsman for Wales Annual Report and Letter for 2019/2020.	3 - 146
7	Standards Committee Annual Report 2019-2020.	147 - 153
8	Local Government and Elections (Wales) Bill.	154 - 155
9	Meetings with Political Group Leaders, Chairs of Committee & Chief Executive.	156 - 160
10	Code of Conduct Casebook.	161 - 165

# 11 Breach of Code of Conduct - Complaints made to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales (PSOW).

12 Workplan 2020-2021.

Next Meeting: Friday, 19 March 2021 at 10.00 am

Huw Em

Huw Evans Head of Democratic Services Friday, 27 November 2020 Contact: Democratic Services

#### Membership:

#### **Councillors Labour: 2**

Joe A Hale

Mike B Lewis

#### **Councillors Liberal Democrat & Independent Group 1**

## L Graham Thomas

#### **Independent Members**

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess *	19.10.2012 to	Michaela Jones	01.10.2017 to
0	18.10.2018		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed to		
	18.10.2022		
Philip Crayford *	05.10.2012 to	Mike Lewis	01.10.2017 to
	04.05.2017		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed until		
	next Local		
	Government		
	Elections		
Gareth Evans	01.04.2015 to	Margaret Williams	01.04.2015 to
	31.03.2021		31.03.2021

#### NOTE:

- 1. \* Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority/Community Town Councillors** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.
- 5. Only one Executive Member (except Leader) can sit on Standards Committee.

